Members

Choir News Flash

Updated 24 April 2018

Following the very successful Mozart and Haydn concert the coming events for the choir are two weddings and a concert at St Mary’s, Warwick, in October.

The first wedding is on Saturday 19 May at St Gregory’s Church, Tredington at 4.30pm. Rehearsals are at 7.30pm on Friday 18 May and at 1.30pm on Saturday 19 May. All rehearsals at the church in Tredington.

The second wedding is at St Mary’s Church, Ilmington on Saturday 25 August at 3.00pm. Rehearsals are at 7.30pm on Friday 24 August and at 2.00pm on Saturday 25 August. All rehearsals are at St Mary’s, Ilmington.

Our autumn concert, titled War and Peace, is on Saturday 27 October and will commemorate the end of the First World War one hundred years ago. We will be accompanied by Fine Arts Brass and Reader, David Troughton.

Please sign up for both weddings and the October concert using the link on the right.

Concert rehearsals are divided into Preliminary and Core.

Preliminary rehearsals will cover all notes and aim to ensure that all parts are learnt.  Core rehearsals will focus on interpretation and singers are expected to know all notes for the start of the core rehearsal period.    

It is possible to sing in a concert by attending just core rehearsals if you already know the pieces or are an excellent sight-reader. The minimum numbers of rehearsals required will usually be the same as the number of core rehearsals, but if you are unable to attend one of the core rehearsals it is usually possible to attend a preliminary rehearsal instead.

St James’s Singers’ Officers

Patron Dame Judi Dench CH
President Catherine Bott FGS, Hon FTL
President Emeritus Barrie Dugdale OBE
Vice Presidents Professor Robert Bluglass CBE; Dr Kerry Bluglass; Sylvia Coigley; Duncan Fairfax-Lucy; Elizabeth Foster-Hall; Margaret Haycock; Donald Hunter; Jane Woolfenden
Chair Hilary Mills
Secretary Peter Williams
Treasurer Kirsty Campbell
Committee Kate Gardner, Kate Nash
Conductor Julian Harris

 

Performance

Day(s)

:

Hour(s)

:

Minute(s)

:

Second(s)

Rehearsal Commitment

WEDDINGS on 19 May and 25 August and the WAR AND PEACE Concert on Saturday 27 October 2018.

To sign-up for these events please Click on this Link, complete the form and press Submit.

To see a record of your Rehearsal Commitment please click on this link.

St James’s Singers’ 2018 Rehearsal Schedule
  Date   Time   Venue   Notes
2018 Weddings
 Fri 18 May  7.30pm  Tredington  Rehearsal
 Sat 19 May  1.30-3.30pm  Tredington  Rehearsal
 Sat 19 May  4.30pm  Tredington  Wedding
     
 Fri 24 Aug  7.3pm  Ilmington  Rehearsal
 Sat 25 Aug  12.00-2.00pm  Ilmington  Rehearsal
 Sat 25 Aug  3.00pm  Ilmington  Wedding
War and Peace Concert Saturday 27 October 2018. St Mary’s Church, Warwick
 Sat 15 Sep   10.30-12.45pm   Walton   Prelim Rehearsal 1
 Sat 15 Sep   1.45-4.00pm   Walton   Prelim Rehearsal 2
 Thu 20 Sep   7.30pm   Walton   Prelim Rehearsal 3
 Fri 28 Sep   7.30pm   Walton   Prelim Rehearsal 4
 Fri 5 Oct   7.30pm   Walton   Prelim Rehearsal 5
 Thu 11 Oct   7.30pm   Walton   Prelim Rehearsal 6
 Fri 19 Oct   7.30pm   Walton   Core Rehearsal 1
 Sat 20 Oct  10.30-12.45pm   Walton   Core Rehearsal 2
 Sat 20 Oct  1.45-4.00pm   Walton   Core Rehearsal 3
 Fri 26 Oct  7.30pm   Walton   Core Rehearsal 4
 Sat 27 Oct  2.00-5.00pm  St Mary’s Warwick   Core Rehearsal 5
 Sat 27 Oct  7.30pm St Mary’s Warwick   Concert
 Christmas Concert St Mary’s Church Warwick Saturday 22 December
 Thu 22 Nov  7.30pm  Walton
 Fri 30 Nov  7.30pm  Walton
 Fri 7 Dec  7.30pm  Walton
 Thu 13 Dec  7.30pm  Walton
 Thu 20 Dec  7.30pm  Walton
 Sat 22 Dec  2.00 – 5.00pm  St Mary’s Warwick  Concert Day
 Sat 22 Dec  7.30pm  St Mary’s Warwick  Concert Day

 

FUTURE CONCERT DATES

2018

SATURDAY 27 JANUARY
CHORAL WORKSHOP
HOLY TRINITY CHURCH
LEAMINGTON SPA CV32 5RE

SATURDAY 14 APRIL
MOZART REQUIEM HAYDN THERESIENMESSE
ST MARY’S CHURCH
WARWICK

SATURDAY 27 OCTOBER
WAR AND PEACE A WW1 REMEMBRANCE CONCERT
ST MARY’S CHURCH
WARWICK

SATURDAY 22 DECEMBER
CHRISTMAS CONCERT
ST MARY’S CHURCH
WARWICK

2019

SATURDAY 6 APRIL
DURUFLÉ AND POULENC
ST MARY’S CHURCH
WARWICK

MONDAY 29 JULY
CHORAL EVENSONG
WESTMINSTER ABBEY

SATURDAY 5 OCTOBER
VIVALDI AND THE ITALIAN MASTERS
ST MARY’S CHURCH
WARWICK

SATURDAY 21 DECEMBER
CHRISTMAS CONCERT
ST MARY’S CHURCH
WARWICK