The Junior Saint James's Singers

KM_C554e-20160802103509

Deirdre Shields

Stratford Herald

Hear the Junior Saint James’s Singers while you read this page…

 Junior St. James’s Singers Concerts

2017

Friday 24 March, 7pm
Spring Sing!’ including performance of operetta, ‘Two Men and God’
St Peter’s Church
Wellesbourne

Thursday 25 May, 7pm
Summer Choral Festival

with Holy Trinity Church Choir
Holy Trinity Church
Stratford upon Avon

Saturday 3 June, 7.30pm
Haydn: The Creation

with Saint James’s Singers & Saint James’s Players
St Mary’s Church
Warwick

Saturday 2 December, 7.30pm
Haydn: The Creation with the Banbury Choral Society
St Mary’s Church,
Banbury

Sunday 10 December 7.00pm
Tidings of Joy – An Advent Concert
The Guild Chapel
Stratford upon Avon

Monday 11 December 7.30pm
Lord Lieutenant of Warwickshire & High Sheriff’s Carol Service
Holy Trinity Church
Stratford upon Avon

Saturday 23 December 7.30pm
Christmas Concert with the St James’s Singers
St Mary’s Church
Warwick

2018

Saturday 14 April 7.30pm
Mozart;s Requiem & Haydn Theresienmesse with SJS
St Mary’;s Church
Warwick

Sunday 1 July or Sunday 8 July 6.00pm
Polyphony and Pizza
Thatch Barn, Blackwell Grange

 

 

 

About the Junior Saint James’s Singers

The Junior Saint James’s Singers  gives young people the chance to be immersed in great choral works which would usually be inaccessible to choirs of a similar age range. It provides a positive, exciting and inspiring experience of choral singing, leading them to full membership of the Saint James’s Singers when they reach the appropriate age and ability. As well as gaining the pleasure of rehearsing and performing with like minded young people from the area, the juniors also collaborate with the Saint James’s Singers. On occasions, this gives them the opportunity to be accompanied by full orchestras and international soloists. JSJS is open to all young people, aged 11 and above. It rehearses at St Peter’s Church, Wellesbourne (CV35 9LS) on Tuesday evenings from 7.15 – 8.45 pm. The choir is always keen to recruit new members! If you would like to find out more, please contact Julian Shortman on 01789 293795 or complete the enquiry form on the ‘How to Join Us’ section of this website.

JSJS Michaelmas Term Rehearsal Schedule 2017

Date Time Venue   Notes    
 Sat 5 Sept  7.15 – 8.45pm   St Peter’s Church, Wellesbourne
 Tue 12 Sept  7.15 – 8.45pm   St Peter’s Church, Wellesbourne  Split Rehearsal
 Tue 19 Sept  7.15 – 8.45pm   St Peter’s Church, Wellesbourne
 Tue 26 Sept  7.15 – 8.45pm   St Peter’s Church, Wellesbourne   Split Rehearsal
 Tue 3 Oct  7.15 – 8.45pm   St Peter’s Church, Wellesbourne   Split Rehearsal
 Tue 10 Oct  7.15 – 8.45pm   St Peter’s Church, Wellesbourne   Split Rehearsal
 Tue 17 Oct  7.15 – 8.45pm   St Peter’s Church, Wellesbourne
  HALF TERM
 Tue 31 Oct   7.15 – 8.45pm   St Peter’s Church, Wellesbourne
 Tue 7 Nov   7.15 – 8.45pm   St Peter’s Church, Wellesbourne
 Tue 14 Nov   7.15 – 8.45pm   St Peter’s Church, Wellesbourne
 Tue 21 Nov   7.15 – 8.45pm   St Peter’s Church, Wellesbourne
 Tue 28 Nov   7.15 – 8.45pm   St Peter’s Church, Wellesbourne
  Fri 1 Dec   7.30 – 9.30pm   St Mary’s Church, Banbury   Haydn’s Creation with BCS
  Sat 2 Dec   Rehearsal 2.00pm
  Concert 7.30pm
  St Mary’s Church, Banbury  Haydn’s Creation with BCS
 Thu 7 Dec   7.30 – 9.00pm   Walton Chapel, Walton Hall  Joint rehearsal with SJS
 Sun 10 Dec   Soloists 12.00pm
  Rehearsal 1.00pm
  Concert 7.00pm
 The Guild Chapel, Stratford   JSJS Advent Concert
  Tidings of Joy
 Mon 11 Dec   Rehearsal 5.30pm
Service 7.30pm
 Holy Trinity Church, Stratford  Lord Lieutenant and High Sheriff’s
 Christmas Service
 Fri 15 Dec   7.30 – 9.00pm  Walton Chapel, Walton Hall  Joint rehearsal with SJS
 Thu 21 Dec   7.30 – 9.00pm  Walton Chapel, Walton Hall  Joint rehearsal with SJS
 Sat 23 Dec   Rehearsal 2.00-5.00pm
  Concert 7.30pm
 St Mary’s Church, Warwick   Christmas Concert with SJS